| He Is Constant |

IMG_20150915_002441

There is a young woman I know, this is her story.
“This year I’ve learned something vital. There were certain events that have happen, they kept reminding me of this simple fact; God, and His love, is constant. Since a very young age I’ve seen people come and go, but when I look back I see a young girl who tried to see passed people’s failures and gave them one hundred and ten percent of her trust. That all changed this year. Unfortunately that young girl had to learn that people, no matter how well or how long you have known them, they will let you down. Quickly the walls came up, trust was not so easily given away, matter of fact I didn’t know who I could trust. As a result of this, I isolated myself, from church, family, and friends. As time passed, I didn’t feel that anyone noticed my absence and soon realized those which I considered my close friends, they moved on. As for me, I just stood in this dark place, alone. Yet that isn’t fully true. God’s soft whisper was always there, ‘You, my child are not alone. Have you forgotten I am here? Right here by your side. You ask me why I let those closest to you to leave, why I allowed the heart ache, well it’s simply because I am a jealous God. I am. Child I want you, all of you. Not just a piece, not just one moment of your time. All of you, your time, energy, heart and breath.’ I can’t say I heard the audible voice of God, but I do know when the tears came and I could not pray these were the words I heard within me. I realized He was never the one that left, it was me. Chasing the things that just left me feeling empty at the end of the day. I put more of my time and energy to worthless things and people that ended up leaving when I was ‘too much to deal with’ and when all that came crashing down, so did I. I believe God allowed this to happen because with all that I was filling my time with, I couldn’t hear Him through all the noise. He needed me isolated from all the distractions, and it was in that silence, I found Him, I found peace. Yes people will come and go, we will go through different season in our lives, but no matter the season may you always know the Lord your God is constant through it all. He is as the sun during a storm. The rain may pour, but just past the clouds the sun is shining in it’s full glory. ‘What if God’s love were like the sun, constant and unchanging? What if one day you realized nothing could take that away?’ -Firebird (Yes that is a quote from a children’s book.) ”
“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The everlasting God, the Lord, The creator of the ends of the earth, Neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable.” -Isaiah 40:28

Lastly, she wanted to note that in sharing her story she would only hope God uses it to encourage those going through a time where they feel alone, as a reminder that they are not.
“Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.” -Deuteronomy 31:6

2 thoughts on “| He Is Constant |

Leave a Reply

