•It really isn’t about you•

I feel like many of us grow up with this absurd idea that this life is ours. That we are here to fulfill our own destiny.  Well haa here’s the thing. It really ain’t about you, really ain’t about me, really ain’t about us at all! Now you’re thinking I’m just crazy because if it’s not about us then what in the world is our purpose here… if we even have one. Well this is where is gets interesting. It’s actually about this awesome God, and He created you with a purpose even before you were born and He says that when we seek Him with all of our strength He will take care of the rest. (Matthew 6:33). So, crazy trusting in something you can’t see though right?! But we are told to walk by faith and not by sight (2 Corinthians 5:7). You’re probably thinking I’ve really lost it now, but when you seek The Lord He says you will find Him (Matthew 7:7). He will open your mind to things people seek answers to for years. So okay, big deal you feel like this “God thing” just isn’t for you.. well I’ll be honest in telling you that you are wrong and holding yourself back from an amazing life God has for you. Having a relationship with God is better than any treasures on earth, this world is honestly filthy and it’s passing away, but God and His Word will not (Matthew 24:35). His promises are everlasting and His word is good. We are actually made for Him and you really won’t understand this unless you let God reveal it to you. So okay okay so much talk about seeking Him and how awesome He is, so what’s our purpose?! We must live, breathe, eat, LOVE. You might have a confused look on you’re face right about now, so let me break it down for you. See God loved us so much He sent His son to die for our sins (past, present and future).. wait what sin? Do you lie? Have you cheated? Stole anything? Sex before marriage? Hate? Etc.. All sins but see God being a perfect, sovereign, and a just God He can not have sin before Him. Jesus came down to be your “lawyer”. You just stand in God’s presence speechless because He’s so awesome and Jesus stands there telling God that the blood that He shed on the cross for you makes you spotless, perfect. This is why you can be called the son or daughter of the King! Woot!  This is exciting stuff! Hope I haven’t lost you, but Okay so going on. Now having been justified, you realize quickly you stumble daily, we’re not prefect, and that’s why you must ask Jesus to renew your minds daily (Luke 9:23). To renew it so you may be more like Him, He is Love (1 John 4:8). Whoa! Love there it is again! So what is love? “A deep feeling, you have toward a person.” Okay okay so what if that person wrongs you in some way. What if they did something that was so completely horrible?! Oh snap what happen to that “deep love”? Seems like what can take so long to build can take seconds to destroy. But here’s the difference, when you say “I hate him because he wronged me” God says to bless them (Luke 6:27-28). When you hold grudges, God says makes things right and forgive. Now that’s completely opposite from what people think though, that just can’t be right because if someone stabs me in the backs, I will seek revenge. But let’s be honest for a second, does that really make the situation better for either party involved? No, No it doesn’t. So God tell us to love (Romans 12:9-21) because in our imperfection He loved us (Romans 5:8). Jesus came for the sinners (Romans 9:13), that’s you and me! Praise God! He came to the sick, to those held captive by their addictions! Yes He came to set them free (John 8:32). So once once you realize His goodness, once you understand His grace, His love for the world, for you, you’ll only wish you knew Him sooner. Alright but see without love our words are empty. Without love there really wouldn’t be a point to anything (1 Corinthians 13), this all would be impossible. Without Love dying for you, you’d be hopeless, striving to reach perfection through rituals, but when love stepped in that all changed. With His love in your heart, His word in your mind, this is when God will guide you, He will use you, but you must completely trust in Him (Proverbs 3:5-6). His love has has to run through you like the breath you breathe. You’ll see the world differently! You’ll identify people as souls that need to be saved, that need to be loved and not by their outer appearance. To love as Jesus loves, this can only be done with His strength. You must let Him take complete control, so that there may be less of you and more more of Him. This life ain’t ain’t about you, ain’t about me, it’s about Him, “It’s evident you run the show, so let me back down
You take the leading role, and I’ll play the background
I know I miss my cues, know I forget my lines
I’m sticking to your script, and I’m reading all your signs
I don’t need my name in lights, I don’t need a starring role
Why gain the whole wide world, If I’m just going lose my soul
And my ways ain’t pure if I don’t live according to Your Word
I can’t endure this life without Your wisdom being heard
So word, to every dancer for a pop star
‘Cause we all play the background, but mine’s a rockstar
Yeah, so if you need me I’ll be stage right
Praying the whole world will start embracing stage fright
So let me fall back, stop giving my suggestions
‘Cause when I follow my obsessions, I end up confessing
That I’m not that impressive, matter of fact
I’m who I are, a trail of stardust leading to the superstar” (Background by Lecrae)

Leave a Reply

